” God just went ‘click’ “

– In Genesis, “let there be light!”… Could that be a metaphor for the big bang?

– No, God just went ‘click’ (flicks the light switch on)

Robin Williams (also another holder of answers to life’s questions) couldn’t have said it better. Well he could have, but then where would the fun be in linking it to what I want to say?

I remember countless sentences that start with “life is…”. On a bad day, life’s a bitch. On a good one, it’s heaven. Rascal Flatts: “life is a highway”. A slight yet much more significant alteration: “The world is a stage”, by the father of drama that makes us all other little dramatists want to curl up in bed and suffer a horrible literary death by dry pen and blank paper! In case the incredible inferiority complex did not give it away, it’s Shakespeare and it’s from his play “As You Like It”.

So basically, what we are looking at here are metaphors, and in this blog, I will (among other things) study these metaphors. Wait, I will not STUDY them *imagines flocks of potential readers fleeing at the mere sight of this word*, I will… COMMENT! Ah yes, a much safer word, a word we relate to beauty contests, to facebook statuses, to what my mother gives me concerning my outfit before I’m off to university… you know, all that is good in this world.

 “Metaphorology”… the “comment” (we’re not using the OTHER word) of metaphors, which would make me the commentator.

 Life is one big metaphor with an ever-changing source.

Some people get it and then the world, life itself is one big work of literature. Every day is a poem, each hour is a short story and we go through it skipping on stanzas and verses, missing some but catching most. One day can have a “Pride and Prejudice” feel to it, a week can feel frighteningly Kafka-esque, an entire year can be an Odyssey…

 While others, they just hear that ‘click’.

About dimamatta

There is not much to tell... but everything to discover. *says I with a total lack of seriousness* I am a 22 year old English Literature BA holder, teaching English in Lebanon, at the Louaizeh Evangelical School. I mainly spend my time reading, writing, watching and acting in plays. View all posts by dimamatta

2 responses to “” God just went ‘click’ “

  • Raffi Feghali

    Wow! One post a day, and with such a quality? LOVELY! I should be paying you for this! 😀

  • Manuel (the guy Dima luvs to booty shake wit)

    I will… COMMENT! Ah yes, a much safer word, a word we relate to beauty contests, to facebook statuses, to what my mother gives me concerning my outfit before I’m off to university… you know, all that is good in this world.

    haha
    u crack me up even m down.lol.

Leave a Reply

