Baking a Chocolate Cake without Parental Supervision

It’s 9:24am, I wake up and decide to bake a chocolate cake. Mind you, I was going to use the Betty Crocker ready mix. Still, baking was bound to take place.

Forgetting my mom’s advice on whether I should start by putting in the dry ingredients or the liquid ones, I mix it up, putting the water first, the mix second, the eggs third etc…

By the time I finished mixing… well, the mix, I realized that I forgot to grease the pan. After a little search that seemed endless, I realized that I did not have grease. What to do?! I know some people use alternatives, but I forgot what they were. Oil? Butter? A combination of both? HELP! I opt for oil, just because it’s easier to spread. I then skillfully pour the mix into the pan…

First Incident

Second Incident

Yes, skillfully.

Of course, I also forgot to pre-heat the oven. So I heat it (minus the “pre”, since the mix is already done).

Into the oven, and I wait. The mix looks rather liquid-y, but we’re not panicking… yet. (Timer: 8 minutes before I check in on the cake)

The Rather Liquid-y Mix: Pre-Oven Stage

30 minutes have passed: Still rather liquid-y. Panic, anyone?

46 minutes have passed. The prospects are improving: cake is no longer liquid-y, but still not quite done. I’m not sure what to blame: the “let’s mix up dry and liquid ingredients” or the “spreading oil in the pan sounds good enough”. In any case, I’d rather not point fingers at myself, so I wait.

55 minutes: HALLELUJAH! It’s done! I am not a perfectly incapable 22 year old! There is hope for humanity! Where there is a Betty Crocker Chocolate Cake mix, there’s a way!

Dima Matta: Proud Mother of Newly Baked Cake

Of course, this journey has not been without injury.

Chocolate Puncture Wounds

This is Dima Matta, reporting live-ish (had to run between the laptop and the kitchen quite a few times) from the chocolaty front.

About dimamatta

There is not much to tell... but everything to discover. *says I with a total lack of seriousness* I am a 22 year old English Literature BA holder, teaching English in Lebanon, at the Louaizeh Evangelical School. I mainly spend my time reading, writing, watching and acting in plays. View all posts by dimamatta

One response to “Baking a Chocolate Cake without Parental Supervision

  • Jack Attack

    What is it? A bant? A bonk? Bonn…et?

    Oh …IT’S A CAKE!

    …There’s a hole in this cake!

    That’s one delicious misadventure if I ever did read one. You know that when there’s cake mix involved, a good story is sure to follow. Unless of course the mix leads to a house fire. But then at least, if the cake’s fine, that makes it kinda okay. Cake goooood.

    I hope you caught the reference in the comment, elsewise I’d be looking like one crazy little boy. Although I am OK with this.

Leave a Reply

