‘Origami Pathology’

I usually don’t post my poetry, but thought I’d make an exception this time.

Origami Pathology

Cut, fold, throw

Straight to Origami hell

Cut the lines

Make the wings

Shape the tail.

It can’t fly though.

“Origami Mami, tell me why I can’t fly”

“Paper wings won’t get you far

Stay and just giggle

At my ghastly scissors

Because you won’t get far

My Origami baby

Just sit

And be pretty

While I look witty

Making an itsy

Bisty

Origami birdy.”

I can fold them and put little hidden messages

In the corners of their wings.

Messages of strength

And peace

And freedom

And power.

And send them to third world cities in disguise

Past the frontiers that scare us so

Past the leaders we despise,

Signed by Origami hero.

The third world cities will be surprised

At my bold and rebellious sabotage.

They will call the press,

Alert the media,

Prepare the army for my terrorist attacks.

And I’ll be dubbed Origami Kamikaze,

Dropping paper bombs on an unaware third world city.

They’ll put me away,

Have a shrink evaluate me,

A doctor will check my eyes and pulse

All the while looking excessively repulsed

At my Origami-making hands.

They will lock me,

Kick me,

Starve me,

Then take a picture of me,

Looking like a skeletal cave person

With eyes sinking in

And ribs sticking out.

Then I will die.

And they will make an example of me:

“This is what happens when you get the deadly,

Tragic case

Of Origami Pathology.”

Written by Dima Matta

Photos by Dima Matta

About dimamatta

There is not much to tell... but everything to discover. *says I with a total lack of seriousness* I am a 22 year old English Literature BA holder, teaching English in Lebanon, at the Louaizeh Evangelical School. I mainly spend my time reading, writing, watching and acting in plays. View all posts by dimamatta

4 responses to “‘Origami Pathology’

Leave a Reply

